Honor the King with your life. Swear allegiance to Him and to Him only, serve the King in truth, justice, and honor. Offer compassion to the weak, the destitute, the widowed, and the poor. Live for the King serve others without cause for personal gain. Never adandon a fellow Knight in battle or in peril. Equip, train, and prepare for battle against the forces of the Dark Knight. Serve the King and faint not in the day of battle. Use not the sword for personal gain, but rather to execute justice and the will of the King. Be merciful, loyal, courageous, faithful, nobel, but above all, be ye humble before the King and before men. Let your words be always spoken in truth. - The Code Sir Dalton And The Shadow Heart

Sunday, December 19, 2010

The Truth Of The Matter By Andrew Klavan

The Truth Of The Matter By Andrew Klavan
The Truth of the Matter (The Homelanders)Charlie is certain that if he could just regain his memory, the chaos around him would make sense. But the truth of the matter is even more incredible than he could imagine.


Charlie West was an ordinary high school kid who went to bed one night and woke up in the clutches of terrorists and wanted by the police for murder. He also woke up with no memory of the events of the past year.

Now Charlie has found the one person who knows what happened . . . and who can help him remember. But remembering is painful—as well as dangerous—and figuring out what to do with this new knowledge may be Charlie's toughest challenge yet.



Review:
I found the book interesting, and slightly boring at the same time. The story plot was pretty good, though I think it could've been better. It was realitively clean (aside from some very brief romance, and violence)
I think I would have enjoyed this more if I had read the two previous books. I wasn't told in the Boozsneeze website that it was book 3. So I was slightly lost for the first fifty pages or so.
However, I did get the jist of the book by the end. I rejoiced with Charlie as he regained his memory. I can't imagine losing my memory for the past two years! I found the terroist organization interesting, and was happy when they caught the "bad guys" so to speak. Although I'm still undecided as to if Detective R (For plot reasons I won't say his name) is really a friend or not...
Negative content:
My personal preference of book writing may not be the same as everyone else's. Klavan used too many "I's" and repeated the previously stated. Other than that, there was violence (obviously! It has terrorists you know!) But nothing got too graphic.

Romance level: Jane Austen
Rating: 3/5 stars

Tuesday, November 30, 2010

Monster By Frank Peretti


Rating: 5/5didn't like it
MonsterRomance level: Below Jane Austen
Violence: High
Review: The best book I've read in a very long time! The first Adult book I've ever read by Peretti, it kept me on the edge of my seat for the entire book! Gripping emotional situations had my heart thumping as Beck and Reed are nearly reunited. I found the addition of the "thing" that screamed like a woman very intriguing! I read the book in the dark (with a book light) one night, and I was in the part where the "thing" was outside the Shelton's tent wailing, and I totally freaked out! I have an over active imagination, and thought I heard something outside...which I explained as the dog...till I found out the dog was inside....I suppose we'll never know...




Positive:
I found the entire story line gripping and enthralling. With an unexpected twist at the end, how could you go wrong? Peretti wove an amazing tale that was clean, yet exciting! I'm the type to go for action/horror books. Behind the book was a moral backbone, with the conclusion of the book being that God will give us the courage to face virtually anything.

Negative:
There wasn't a whole lot of negative-thank goodness! The violence level was a little high. I felt that he handled it well seeing as how it is a horror/suspense book. There was some killing (by the Monster) but was handled well and not dwelt on. However, the Monster did kill quite a few people. I say this only as a warning for those who prefer to read books without violence.


CONCLUSION: A Must Read!

Monday, October 11, 2010

Skin Map By Stephen R. Lawhead

Skin Map By Stephen R. Lawhead

Review- I have a very hard time writing this review, I myself like to write and I feel bad for having to write a negative review. But I was told by booksneeze.com to write an HONEST review. So here it goes......
The initial story plot of this book intrigued me, but it felt as if he drug the story out way too long, and didn't have enough content. The story drug on and on, and I felt the writing was poor. By the second chapter I was entirely bored with the book. I forced myself to read the rest of the 400 some page book and was not pleased. Honestly, Its hard for me to find anything I think was positive in the book! I read a 2,000 page book last Summer in but a few short weeks-this book? It took me an entire month to read it, and its only 400 pages! And the text is about the size of this text.

Negative Content:
Honestly, to me this book was all negative content! I personally felt that the author dwelled way too much on the ladies' appearances, Willhelmina (A main character) was described as being "a dead ringer for the undertaker's anemic daughter." And "Her was mousy hair, both in colour and texture: very fine, shiny, and slightly bristly, and she kept it aggressively short." While the other woman in the story was described as "the most beautiful woman he'd ever seen up close in flesh. Her softly rounded form was encased in a gown of..."
He then goes on " The heavy boning of her bodice accentuated the delicious curve of her waist...." This bothered me quite a bit as he made Willehmina out to be an ugly, unshapely woman that he hated (only because of her appearance, and that she was over worked!)

Aside from writing mistakes, the spiritual side was incredibly lacking and inappropriate! For a Christian book, I don't believe it mentioned GOD once! Thats not something that I would initially be holding against a book (its not a huge deal) But other gods were mentioned! Allah, sacrifices and chanting over a dead body are just a few things.

Positive content: The plot was in theory a good idea. I did love the cover art, and found it intriguing. The first chapter was good....

I apologize if I come off seeming snobby or rude, but this was to be an honest opinion.

This book was provided for free to me by Thomas Nelson.

Friday, July 30, 2010

Cast Of Characters By Max Lucado

Book Rating: 4/5

This is the first book I have ever read by Max Lucado, and I must say, the best non- fiction book I've read in a very long time! Most devotional/inspirational books-that I've read- are dull and lifeless. Not so with this book! Lucado takes a "cast of characters" from the Bible and places them in real life situations, allowing you to relate easier to them. For instances, take Moses. The scene pans to a murderer, reduced from the life of a big-shot, to a janitor. Ever heard the story of Moses like that? I have now! Each chapter is ended with thought provoking questions pertaining to that chapter.

Lucado's writing style is easy to read, and flows. I stayed up into the wee hours of the night, wanting to finish this book!

The only complaint I have is that he used one word that is not acceptable in my house. I don't care ____.
Not considered "horrible" for most, but not acceptable in my family. Otherwise, I was very pleased with the book. I would jump if given the chance to read another of Max Lucado's books.
Romance level: Below Jane Austen. Some Bible references to harlotry and prostitution. But nothing you wouldn't find in the Bible!

Violence: low (again, nothing you wouldn't find in the Bible)

Negative content: One inappropriate word not used my house.

This book was given to me courtesy of Thomas Nelson.

Thursday, July 1, 2010

Wednesday, June 23, 2010

COMING SOON TREASURE ISLAND

COMING SOON: TREASURE ISLAND BY ROBERT LOUIS STEVENSON

Washington's Lady By Nancy Moser

Washington's Lady By Nancy Moser
It has been said that without George Washington there would be no United States. But without Martha, there would be no George Washington. He called her "my other self." Who was this woman who captured the heart of our country's founder? Martha Dandridge Custis was a wealthy, attractive widow and the mother of two small children when she was courted by, then married the French and Indian War hero. Her new life as Martha Washington took her through blissful times at Mount Vernon, family tragedies, six years of her husband's absence during the Revolutionary War, and her position as a reluctant First Lady.
__________________________________________________________________________
Rating: 5/5 Romance Level: Below Jane Austen

I fall instantly in love with every character Nancy Moser writes! It truley is as if you are inside the mind of Martha Washington. You hear so much about George Washington, but not much about Martha Washington! But it's true, without Martha, where would George have been? Without her loving support would he have become one of America's founding fathers?

Martha had quite a tragic life, and George and her were never "truely" alone together. I guess I never thought about them being tired, and not wanting to become President and first lady! They sacrificed so much, so that we could have the freedom we have today! He ultimatley gave his life for his country, and Martha her husband.

There is nothing inappropriate for younger eyes, other than a few refrences to war related subjects, and an "affair" with  George (it never came to anything, and I don't really think it was an affair, only that Martha was jealous) It is only refrenced to, and not discriptive.

All in all a must read for anyone who wants a glimpse into the life of Martha Washington.

Sunday, May 9, 2010

COMING SOON: Washington's Lady-Nancy Moser


COMING SOON: WASHINGTON'S LADY BY NANCY MOSER I'M HOPING TO HAVE THIS UP VERY SOON, SO STAY TUNED!

Monday, April 12, 2010

Pure: A 90-Day Devotional for the Mind, the Body & the Spirit By Rebecca St. James

 Rebecca St. James's messages of abstinence and modesty reflect her passionate love for Jesus and her commitment to living for Him. Rebecca does more than talk the talk--she walks the walk. And in this daily devotional, she offers young women the encouragement they need to join her in living a life of all-out purity. It's not just about sex. It's about mind, body, and spirit.


This 90-day devotional proves that purity is anything but old-fashioned and boring. It's edgy and relevant. Rebecca lives it--and readers can live it too. It starts with Day 1 . . . and ends with everyday radical living.
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
_________________________________________________________________________
Rating: 1/5 Age Range: 14-20
 
I have to say I was highly dissapointed with this book. The first few days were fine, but I had a few problems with some of the things in the book. I won't rant and rave long, but I will say that one of the things I had a problem with. In the book, she mentioned a play she was in where she played a "less than honorable woman" in a play, depciting Jesus redeeming her. Thats not a problem your thinking? Your right! But she said she came out in a revealing outfit and shocked people! This to me is contradictary! If someones not walking the talk, then why listen to them?! 
In addition to this, it seemed to me that shes leeniant on the whole "dating" thing, and doesn't really state her beliefs. 
 
On a more positive note, I do believe she tries. She does have positive Christian music to share with the world. All in all, I wouldn't reccomend this book. If you enjoyed this book, please don't be affended! Everyone gets something different out of books, and this is only my opinion! If you have a different opinion of this book, please leave a comment!  

Lost Art Of True Beauty- By Leslie Ludy


Sensuality equals beauty—that’s what today’s young women are learning from our sex-obsessed society. Millions of 20 somethings are caught up in trying to look like fashion models, movie stars, or the hottest new pop singer and end up plagued by insecurity, eating disorders, and sexual promiscuity.




Bestselling author and speaker Leslie Ludy (Set-Apart Femininity and Authentic Beauty) shares a different vision for feminine loveliness as God intended it to be—the breathtaking radiance of a young woman who has been transformed by Christ from the inside out. With candid personal stories, practical advice, and inspiration, Leslie leads young women on a life-changing journey to become women of feminine grace, beauty, and enduring style.

Leslie inspires girls toward inner changes but also talks about practical social grace and manners, how to dress beautifully, and even how to create a warm and lovely environment in the home. Clearly, true beauty is more than skin deep.
___________________________________________________________________________
Rating: 5/5 Age range: 14-20
When Miss Ludy says in the begininng that she trys to write her books in a "conversational" tone. It truely is as if she is sitting across the tabel speaking to you.

The topics  range from modesty and appearance, to being all God wants you to be. I woud say though that most of the topics most likely be over a 12 or under young lady's head. None of the topics would be inappropriate, but they may not get all of it at that age-or younger.

This is the first book I've read by Leslie Ludy, and I hope to get many more! It was well written and enjoyable. I would reccomend it to any young lady looking for a good non-fiction book.

COMING SOON....Sir Dalton And The Shadow Heart Book 3 by Chuck Black

REVIEW COMING SOON:
SIR DALTON AND THE SHADOW HEART BY CHUCK BLACK BOOK 3

Friday, March 19, 2010

Check Out my Goodreads account!

Hey everyone! To tide you over till I'm able to read another book (I'm in the process of several) You can go HERE and check out my book shelf! It is set to private, so ask for friend invite! If you can, say something with the invite, like " I read your blog" or something. Have a great day!

Thursday, March 18, 2010

Complete works of Jane Austen


Collected together in one volume, The Complete Novels show the development of Austen as a writer and social commentator. From the early optimism and youthful energy of Northanger Abbey to the quiet and subtle art of Persuasion, this collection reveals the breadth of one of the best loved novelists of all time.













___________________________________________________________________________________
Rating 4/5
All of the novels (except one in my opinion) are well written, the romance is "Jane Austen" : ) Theres never anything too descriptive. This one may depend on your personal convictions, but I think its appropriate. It is a pretty hard read, I would reccomend it for 14+. In order to fully understand the book, you will need to give it your full attention. It isn't the kind of book you can put down and pick up every other page it has to be read chapter by chapter (again my opinion) The only book that was questionable was the Mansfield Park. Some may not be thrilled with the play in the book. Its supposed to be morally and ethically wrong. She does refuse to take part in it, and the play plot is never "really" stated, its only a vauge idea. But I've seen one of the movie adaptions, and it was pretty bad! It was NOT like that in the book! The purpose of the play-I think- was to show that she had a good moral compass. Overall, the books are good and clean. I didn't care for the last book, "Lady Susan" it was letters written back and forth between two people, and quite dull to me. Jane Austen's books are one of the those classic books that you "must" read before you die.

Interesting fact: The photo (above) is the only portrait we have of Jane Austen! Oh, and just so you know, I would NEVER reccomend reading the complete collection in one volumn! Its VERY overwhelming! But I do reccomend reading them seperatley!

Mozart's Sister-Nancy Moser

Mozart's Sister-By Nancy Moser
Nannerl Mozart's early days seem to be the stuff of fairy tales-traveling far and wide, performing piano concerts with her younger brother, Wolfgang, before the crowned heads of Europe. But behind the glamour lurk dark difficulties--the hardship of travel, agonizing bouts of illness, and the constant concern over money. Their father, Leopold, is driven by a desire to bring his son's genius to the attention of the world. But what about Nannerl? Is she not just as talented? In a world where women's choices are limited, what hope does she have of ever realizing her own dreams? In this lovingly crafted novel, author Nancy Moser brings to life one of history's hidden heroines.



_________________________________________________________________________________
Rating 5/5
This book is well written, "Jane Austen" on the romance scale (there is a few refferences to the cultural "misstresses" but it isn't descriptive)

This is an amazing book! I would reccommend it to anyone! The way Nancy Moser mixes fact, emotion and fiction together is wonderful. You can tell she really put her heart into this book, and actually put herself in Nannerl's heart. It follows her life from her early childhood, to her death. Its a great way to read "history" without it being painfull. I don't care for the "this person did this, this and this" type of history book (althought I do read them!) This is a much better way to drink in history without a headahce! I have never heard much about "Mozart's Sister", and now I feel like I know her! Nancy had me almost crying by the end of the book. Supurb book!

Sir Bentley and Holbrook Court-Knights of Arrethtrae series-Book 2 By Chuck Black

Sir Bentley and Holbrook Court-Knights of Arrethtrae series-Book 2
___________________________________________________________________________________
Sir Bentley, an honorable young knight, abandons his calling in order to seek the truth of the Prince. Choosing to live as the Prince did, he forsakes his former lifestyle and wealth to live as a pauper. His travels take him to Holbrook, where the townsfolk live in poverty, paying high taxes to support the lavish lifestyle of Lord Kingsley and his court. But something even darker is lurking in the shadows of the beautiful castle.


Bentley soon befriends Eirwyn, a mysterious but compassionate young woman who often distributes food among the poor. When Eirwyn is kidnapped by a ruthless tribe to serve as a sacrifice, Bentley battles a vicious mountain creature to save her life. But when he discovers who is really behind Holbrook’s downfall, he’s faced with an even bigger challenge–battling the Dark Knight’s most evil commander and his Shadow Warriors as they attack the castle.

Will greed destroy the kingdom the way it destroyed Lord Kingsley? Or can Sir Bentley and Eirwyn work together to restore order and prosperity to the kingdom through the compassion and grace of the Prince?

Journey to Arrethtrae, where these knights of noble heart live and die in loyal service to the King and the Prince. These knights are mighty, for they serve a mighty King. They are…the Knights of Arrethtrae!

___________________________________________________________________________________
Rating: 5/5
The second book in this series, I don't believe they need to be read in order. Every book follows a certain amount of time with each charcter, and moves on to another in the next book. Which to me is slightly dissapointing, but I understand not having enough material to do more with the same character.

The book is well written, there is a bit of romance, which is "Jane Austen" on the romance scale. It never gets graphic, its only a "dude, shes pretty." Type of thing, and he never dwells on it. There is a surprising twist towards the end....shhhh!!! I do reccomend that you read the book series with other books read in between. Again, highly reccomended!

Sir Kendrick and the Castle of Bel Lione -The Knights of Arrethtrae series-By:Chuck Black

Knights Of Arrethtrae-Book 1 Sir Kendrick and the castle of Bel Lione

From the back: ___________________________________________________________________________________
A dangerous new order threatens the mission of the Knights of Arrethtrae. Only loyalty to the King can bring victory!


As the Knights of the Prince await His triumphant return, they are steadfast in their mission to take His story into the kingdom and recruit as many as are willing. But when a new and dangerous threat is revealed, their mission is jeopardized.

Sir Kendrick and his young charge, the impetuous Sir Duncan, are sent on a mission to discover the identity and origin of a secretive new order known as the Conquistero Knights. They travel to the city of Bel Lione where Lord Ra has been enticing young people in the kingdom to join his festivals, after which many choose not to return home. Their families keep quiet for fear of repercussion.

When Sir Duncan disappears while trying to discover the truth of Lord Ra’s castle, Sir Kendrick attempts to find and enlist the help of a mysterious warrior. Time is short for he must save Duncan and call upon the knights of Chessington to join in the battle against the evil Lord Ra.

Journey to Arrethtrae, where these knights of noble heart live and die in loyal service to the King and the Prince. These knights are mighty, for they serve a mighty King. They are…the Knights of Arrethtrae!
__________________________________________________________________________________

Rating-5/5

** spoiler alert ** This book was AMAZING! Mr. Black weaves fiction and Biblical truths in a way that is easily understood! I stayed up till the wee hours of the night to finish it, I was not dissapointed! Sir Kendrick and Duncan will be forever etched in my mind. You could tell by the end of the book that Duncan had matured quite alot. He was left with a respect toward Sir Kendrick, and a bit less of a hot head! :) I look forward to the next book in this series, Sir Bentley and the Holbrook Court.
Although I do have to admit, I wonder if Mr. Black will do anything more with Elise and Teara. Do I see a marriege on the horizon? hmmmmm....

This book was clean, the romance was minimal, there was a bit of violence, but nothing disturbing. Overall it is a great book! Its written well, and a rare read of modern day books. Deffentily a must read!